FANDOM


Memory Alpha  AboutPolicies and guidelinesFA policiesFA criteriaFA nominationsFeatured articles → Featured article reviews

Memory Alpha articles are never truly finished. Even featured articles, examples of Memory Alpha's best work, will over time have to undergo revisions to keep them up to date. Therefore, it's important to review the featured articles from time to time to ensure that these revisions have not only happened, but have maintained the quality expected of a featured article.

If you would like to help by starting a review, a good place to start is featured articles more than five years old, which are listed here. Please make sure you are familiar with the review policy before proceeding, though. For past reviews, please see the archive.

Reviews can be started by beginning a new discussion on this page. If you think that a featured articles' status should be upheld, add it to the "Uphold" section. If you think that the article should be removed from the feature article list, it should be added to the "Remove" section. Either way, be sure to state the reason(s) why you think the article should be reviewed. Reviews should display, and have a link to, the blurb used on the portals, by adding {{Blurb|ARTICLE}} before the discussion.

Sample format:

=== ARTICLE ===
{{Blurb|ARTICLE}}
<reasoning> - <signature>

Once this is done, a notice that the article's status is being reviewed should be added to the article in question by inserting {{far}} at the top of the page, above any other templates except the article type template.

When you are commenting on a review, please take the time to read the entire article before you decide whether to Support or Oppose the motion. When supporting or opposing an article, please use a bullet point (by adding a * before your comment) without any indent so these will be easy to find later. General comments should be indented as usual, and, as always, please sign your nominations and comments with "~~~~".


Uphold

Constitution class

USS Enterprise, The Cage (remastered) profile view

The Constitution-class USS Enterprise in 2254

Constitution-class starships were the premiere front-line Starfleet vessels in the latter half of the 23rd century. They were designed for long duration missions, with minimal outside support. They were best known for their celebrated missions of galactic exploration and diplomacy which typically lasted up to five years.

The first Constitution-class starships were launched in 2245, and served as Starfleet's leading ships for the rest of the century. The Constitution-class's also served as the mighty deterrent to both the Klingon and Romulan Empires, numerous times taking part in conflicts which determined the fate of the entire Federation, if not the Alpha Quadrant itself.

In the early 2270s, the Constitution-class starships underwent a major refit program. The actual refitting took eighteen months of work, and essentially a new vessel was built onto the bones of the old. Virtually every system was remodeled and redesigned, thus the Constitution-class starships continued in service for a further twenty years.

Simply put, this is a great article with lots of minute detail. All sources are properly cited and there are some lovely complementary images. It has changed a lot since 2005 but for the better and still deserves to be an FA in my opinion. --| TrekFan Open a channel 22:31, February 7, 2018 (UTC)

Comment I just tweaked the history section somewhat, especially the mirror universe section regarding the new Star Trek: Discovery information. Kennelly (talk) 23:29, February 7, 2018 (UTC)

Comment: Great addition. I don't think your edit should prevent the review process from continuing though. It's still a complete article that can be added to as further information becomes available as a result of Discovery. --| TrekFan Open a channel 08:40, February 8, 2018 (UTC)

  • Support - As the one who has extensively worked in the past on the BG/footnote-sections and the overall imagery lay-out, I owe it to my standing to stand behind my work ;) -- Sennim (talk) 10:32, February 8, 2018 (UTC)

Remove

Ayala

Ayala command uniform

Ayala in 2378

Ayala was a Maquis who served as Chakotay's right-hand man aboard the raider Val Jean. When he became stranded in the Delta Quadrant aboard the Starfleet vessel USS Voyager, he joined its crew as a security officer.

Ayala was awarded the rank of lieutenant junior grade, initially in the engineering and operations divisions, but eventually in security. He was generally assigned to the bridge as a relief tactical officer. He also served as operations officer at various points in 2371 and 2372. Ayala was left in command of the bridge when the ship was affected by a distortion ring being.

In 2375, while Lieutenant Commander Tuvok was missing with an away team aboard the Delta Flyer, Lieutenant Ayala served as acting tactical officer. With the crew at continuous work to find the away team, Captain Janeway asked him to contact the Beta team on the surface, as they had not reported in for an hour. At the same time, Neelix also offered the bridge crew some coffee, of which Ayala accepted a cup.

By 2378, shortly before Voyager returned to Earth, Ayala had switched to the command division, and was assigned to the conn.

I came across this article today and through reading it noticed it was a complete mess. There were numerous wording issues including spelling & grammar, non-sensical sentences (Example: "he appears of back in quick scene developed in a corridor, and also appears Renlay Sharr but are well distinguished her facial features" - what???!) and duplicate sentences in different sections. The tense and PoV was also off in places referring to his appearances as "appeared at...", "walks past...", "can be seen...", "in this scene, he...", for example. The article is very disjointed and does not read very well at all. I have also done a quick skim of some available reference sources and there is some more background information that could be included in the article. I have done a small amount of work to it today and intend to continue with this over the coming days. However, given the problems with it at present, I feel this article is not currently an example of Memory Alpha's best work and should be removed from the FA list pending a re-write, at which time it can be re-nominated if appropriate. --| TrekFan Open a channel 08:31, February 8, 2018 (UTC)

I added a link for the reference to his kids, and re-worded some of the personal life section. --LauraCC (talk) 19:08, February 17, 2018 (UTC)

Thanks Laura, however I feel that your work in addition to my own prove this article is not yet complete. I still think it needs removing from the FA list until finished. --| TrekFan Open a channel 19:15, February 17, 2018 (UTC)

There is indeed room for more changes. --LauraCC (talk) 19:17, February 17, 2018 (UTC)

Can I take that as your support for removal pending updates? --| TrekFan Open a channel 15:58, February 19, 2018 (UTC)

Star Trek: Armada II

Armada 2 cover

Cover of Star Trek: Armada II

Star Trek: Armada II is a real-time strategy game, published by Activision in 2001. The sequel to Star Trek: Armada, it featured improved three dimensional graphics as well as more classes of ships. It also added Species 8472 and the Cardassian Union as playable races.

"The Federation stands on the precipice of another major conflict that threatens the fragile peace we have worked so hard to achieve. It's been six months since we successfully dealt with the threat of the Omega Particle. Tensions between the Cardassians and the Klingon Empire are on the rise, and we've just received word of a renewed Borg threat."
Following some complaints about the length of the Armada version, the single-player campaign was altered for this game; now only three races are involved, and each storyline is mostly independent of the others: the Federation must repel a Borg invasion via a new type of transwarp gate, taking the assault into the Delta Quadrant; the Klingons must deal with a resurgent Cardassian military, while the Borg, affected by events in the Federation campaign, must stave off an attack by Species 8472, before combining with the Federation to eliminate this galactic threat.

Looking at the nomination page from 2005 I don't think this article was formally nominated for FA status. Star Trek: Armada was nominated and then User:Rebelstrike2005 just happened to say he liked Armada II aswell. On that basis, I think the continued status of this article should be discussed here. I, for one, don't believe it is Featured Article worthy and stands up to other production articles we have now. --| TrekFan Open a channel 14:26, February 8, 2018 (UTC)

This was nominated under the "formal" procedure of the time, and approved by the community, insofar as it was seconded and no one raised an objection to it happening, so it's a FA, if an old one. Comparing this to other FAs, even of the same type, isn't a criteria we judge these by either. Which criteria is being addressed here? - Archduk3 17:07, February 8, 2018 (UTC)

Apologies, I should have detailed my reasoning further. I just don't think it is particularly well-written. I feel it could be a lot better than it is now. To me, it reads little more than a list at the moment. I'm certain some sections could be expanded upon, more images added to break up the longer bits of the page and perhaps some background information and reception sections added (with appropriate sources, of course). I'm sure in 2005 it would have been a good article, but I just think that now we have higher standards and more developed policies & practices that I think this could be improved upon further before being featured. --| TrekFan Open a channel 17:31, February 8, 2018 (UTC)